B4J Question Start of a new project. Questions about B4J

vecino

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hey, everybody, I need some advice.

I have been working with B4A since 2012 and I am very happy with the result, and from that date until now the improvements are continuous and the change is spectacular.

Now I have been asked for a new project and I am a little scared, it must work in Android, in gnu/Linux and mainly in Raspbian (the Raspberry system).
I've read that B4J can do it, but I have some doubts:

- Is it really true that B4J creates executables for all those systems?
- Does the same code work on all systems or do you have to compile it for each one?
- Is the source code the same for all or do you have to take into account something to compile for all?
- Is there a tutorial that explains everything you have to take into account to work with B4J to create executables that work in all systems I have indicated?

I don't know if it's possible or if I'm asking for something impossible.
I'm waiting for your advice.
Thank you very much.
Greetings.

sorex

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
there's a difference between Android and desktop environments.

a desktop environment (B4J) project should run on windows, ios, linus without much issues I guess. (only did some windows & raspbian coding so far)

with XUI you can create things that will work on both (Android/Windows) but you still need to use B4A & B4J to create the end product.

most code can be shared with classes tho so you don't need to do it multiple times from scratch.

you can add platform specific exeptions via conditional compiling (search for #if)

Upvote 0

vecino

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thank you for your explanation.
So I think I understand that by using "#if" I can compile the same code with B4A and with B4J, is that right?

Upvote 0

sorex

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
no, it's the opposite.

you tell for which platform that piece of code is.