Android Question Ripple Effect using Libgdx + Shaders

MarcTG

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello

I'd like to use a ripple effect on touch and I read that this could be done with shaders. I found vertex and fragment code for ripple effects but I am not sure how to use them... The attached file contains the B4a code + the shader program.

Please help :)

Attachments

• shader.zip
    37 KB · Views: 449

Informatix

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello

I'd like to use a ripple effect on touch and I read that this could be done with shaders. I found vertex and fragment code for ripple effects but I am not sure how to use them... The attached file contains the B4a code + the shader program.

I'm a real beginner with shaders. It's a good opportunity to improve my skills. I plan to include a few shader demos in the new version of libGDX (should be released this week).

Upvote 0

Informatix

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello

The fragment shader in your archive is unusable without knowing what parameters are expected (e.g. the code uses two textures; without details on these textures, I cannot do anything).
I tried to find another ripple shader but the only one that I found is not very convincing.

Upvote 0

MarcTG

Licensed User
Longtime User
The fragment shader in your archive is unusable without knowing what parameters are expected (e.g. the code uses two textures; without details on these textures, I cannot do anything).
I tried to find another ripple shader but the only one that I found is not very convincing.

Hey Fred, thanks for trying :)

I probably have to look for other shaders once I understand what I should be looking for... If I may ask, can you share an example where a sprite is being used with a shader touch event... Even though you found a ripple effect that is not convincing, can you please share a working example of that?