Java Question How to add .jar file to library

potduang

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm a newbie one on b4a. I've an android tablet with bult-in barcode scanner (real barcode scanner, not a camera) with a SDK library file in .jar (platform_extension.jar) . I've created a .xml file for that SDK and in Libs can call function like my .xml file declared. The problem is that when I compile the program it return error

Compiling code. 0.10
Compiling layouts code. 0.04
Generating R file. 0.00
Compiling generated Java code. Error
javac 1.7.0_07
src\test9300\b4a\main.java:210: error: package platform_extension does not exist
platform_extension.scanManager _scanner = null;
^
1 error

Am I missing or done anything wrong?

barx

Licensed User
Longtime User
If you are creating a library that exposes a 3rd party java lib to basic 4 android then it is classed as a 'wrapper', because it wraps the underlying 3rd party lib.

To let Basic 4 Android know that your library requires another file to be present you add the @DependsOn annotation. and example being:

B4X:
@DependsOn(values = {"android-support-v4"})

'android-support-v4' being the file name (without the extension).

you place this code at in the same place as you add @author, @Version, etc.

Hope this helps

potduang

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thank you barx. I will try as your advice.

Further more questions,please.

Am I correct that this must be add to java source code?
If I don't have the java code, I've to ask my vendor to do this for me. Am I right?

Thank you in advance!

barx

Licensed User
Longtime User