iOS Question Install app without the App Store

ThePuiu

Licensed User
Longtime User
I have no experience with IOS and I would like to know if I can install on an iPhone an application made with B4I other than downloading it from the App Store. Thank you!

Yvon Steinthal

Licensed User
You can compile as a Release on your iPhone. It will stay as long as you don't delete it. There are a few certificate steps i believe to make sure your iPhone is recognized though...

Y.

Upvote 0

ThePuiu

Licensed User
Longtime User
but if i want to install to another's iphone? I would like to make an application that will run on a customer's phones.

Upvote 0

Yvon Steinthal

Licensed User
I dont think you can, but im no expert. Your devices need to be specified in the certificate when you install a release version on your iphone. I believe there is a limit of 100 devices on the apple developper side....

Upvote 0

ThePuiu

Licensed User
Longtime User
The application is customized and will work on up to 10 phones. Can the App Store account not be public? I just can provide a link to the app ... I need to know if I need to buy an App Store account because the client has to bear all the expenses. I want to know all the details before buying the B4I license.

Upvote 0

nwhitfield

Licensed User
Longtime User
If it's very small scale, your app may not be approved for the store anyway - one of the common reasons for rejection Apple cits is "If your app doesn’t offer much functionality or content, or only applies to a small niche market, it may not be approved." They don't, of course, say how small is small. I guess I'll find out when I've done all the hours of coding.

Anyway, you can install over the air on a small number of phones provided:

1. You have an Apple Developer account
2. You know the UDID of all the phones on which you want to install the app (get it via iTunes or have the owner visit get.udid.io on the phone's browser)