MouseMove over Image - problem

DaveW

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

I am a Newbie to Basic4PPC so sorry if this is a dumb question!!

I have modified the BigImage program I found elsewhere on the forum to add some more functionality. I hav added zooming to it and wanted to add a readout of mouse position over the image. However I have been unable to make this work. I have followed all the examples I can find on the forum and elsewhere but get an error:

"Object Reference not set to an instance of an object."

The relevant code is:

Sub App_Start
img1obj.New1(False)
img1obj.FromControl("Image1")
img1mve.New1(img1obj.Value,"MouseMove")

Sub img1mve_NewEvent
x = img1obj.GetProperty("X") '<error here!
y = img1obj.GetProperty("Y")
label1.Text = x
label2.Text = y
End Sub

Can anyone help get me on the right track?

David.

Attachments

• BigImage-v2.sbp
    3.2 KB · Views: 188

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
You need to assign the eventargs of the event to an object before you try to access them

B4X:
Sub img1mve_NewEvent
  [COLOR="Red"]img1obj.Value = img1mve.Data[/COLOR]
  x = img1obj.GetProperty("X")
  y = img1obj.GetProperty("Y")
  label1.Text = x
  label2.Text = y
End Sub
I also note that you are using dzImage.dll on the desktop, it should be dzImageDesktop.dll. Make sure you have got the latest version from post #30 here http://www.b4x.com/forum/additional-libraries/1403-dzimage-library-3.html.

You should also assign a filter to the OpenDialog to define the files types you want to open.
B4X:
OpenDialog1.Filter = "Picture Files|*.bmp;*.jpg|Text Files|*.txt|All Files|*.*"

DaveW

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks, that fixed it! I still need to get my head round the "why" part - but that will come with practise I hope :)

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I still need to get my head round the "why" part -