Android Question New Google Cloud Speech Recognition

Rick Harris

Licensed User
Longtime User
Google is currently working on a new (cloud based) speech recognition API: https://cloud.google.com/speech/

This looks very promissing, although it seems Google intends to charge for its use once the definite version is released.
Who can / will port this API to B4A?

Last edited:

Rick Harris

Licensed User
Longtime User
You can access any online API with HttpUtils2.
Have you examined whether all methods of this API will thus become accessible?

Why are there now no less than 3 libraries in the Forum that access the current Google speech API (by XverhelstX, VPires and recently Stevel05)? Apparently using HttpUtils2 was not sufficient (or maybe I am wrong).

Upvote 0

DonManfred

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Upvote 0

Rick Harris

Licensed User
Longtime User
Does this help if the code is NOT java?
No idea, you tell me! I have no experience with Github projects (it looks like Java to me)
I never understood Java and am just a "simple" Assembler, VB6 and B4A developer. You apparently do have such knowledge in view of the many wrappers you have made. Nice work by the way.

PS. I am surprised (and somewhat sad) that not more discussion is taking place in this Forum about the latest speech recognition technologies. A lot of new developments are going on like Google Cloud SR API, but also Houndify, Pocketsfinx, MSN activities and many more.
My aim is to extend my elaborate personal assistant app to enable it to listen continuously (like the new "Google Home" box) and with much better speech recognition quality (in particular in the Dutch language).

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Rick Harris

Licensed User
Longtime User
It does not help.