B4J Question OAuth2 Authorization Server in B4J

avalle

Licensed User
Longtime User
I need to implement an OAuth2 Authorization Server in B4J but I only seem to find threads on client implementations (e.g. B4J which authenticate to public OAuth services like Google or Facebook).

Is there anyone who has done or tried this already and want to share some ideas, starting points, code snippets?

Thanks
Andrea

avalle

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm implementing a REST API webservice and I need to implement the authorization server to provide OAuth 2.0 authorization to calling clients.
More or less like any public API which is using OAuth for authorization.
As I'm developing the REST API with B4J I'd like the authorization server to be developed with it as well.

https://github.com/authlete/java-oauth-server is a good example, but I have no experience of converting a Java project to a library for B4J.

Upvote 0

OliverA

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I don't think that is what you think it is. It still uses 3rd party (authlete) for the database backend.
Quoted from that link:
This implementation is DB-less. What this means is that you don't have to have a database server that stores authorization data (e.g. access tokens), settings of the authorization server itself and settings of client applications. This is achieved by using Authlete as a backend service.
Authlete is a cloud service that provides an implementation of OAuth 2.0 & OpenID Connect (overview). You can easily get the functionalities of OAuth 2.0 and OpenID Connect either by using the default implementation provided by Authlete or by implementing your own authorization server using Authlete Web APIs as this implementation (java-oauth-server) does.
See this post for the Apache project that my be more in line in what you are trying to do. (https://stackoverflow.com/a/17004631)

Update: Security is hard...

Upvote 0

avalle

Licensed User
Longtime User