ScreenOrientation without Destroying Activity

reeZZer

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello,

i'm working on a Chat APP and would like to start with the Landscape mode too.

I'm using the Network Lib and on every Screen Orientation the Connection to the Active socket gets lost and ofc the views get destroyed.

I found an interesting line to add in the Manifest XML:
B4X:
android:configChanges="keyboardHidden|orientation"
which will prevent the Activity to be Destroyed and an Event should be raised when the Screen Orientation change:
B4X:
@Override
public void onConfigurationChanged(Configuration newConfig) {

}

Is there a way to realise this in B4A without an extra Lib? (or if there is one which is the Name?)

Thanks in advance.

walterf25

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Screen Orientation without destroying activity

Hello friend, i'm fairly new to Basic4Android, and faced the same issue you're dealing with right now, i now use the StateManager module which has worked very well for me in most of the apps i've worked on, please take a look herehttp://www.b4x.com/forum/basic4android-getting-started-tutorials/9777-statemanager-helps-managing-android-applications-settings-state.html#post54161
Or nother way you can handle this is by using the Sub Activity_Resume and Sub Activity_Pause subs, you can declare global variables and save your information in this variables before switching screen orientation.

Hope i'm making sense, let me know if you have any questions i'll be more than happy to help you out

Walter

Upvote 0

reeZZer

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello,

i can now keep up the Network (Socket) and all other non-Activity based Functions by declaring them on Process_Globals.

My actual Problem now is i'm using a Label with Richstring and ClickableTextView Library which makes the Text Colored and some Text is clickable, if i copy the whole Text and set it on Resume the Color and Clickable Text is gone.

Is there any solution ? i don't think so.

Thanks anyways.