Android Question The Basics - How to use the Android Support Library

Cass

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi there,

Firstly, I must apologise. I am a programmer from way back, but Android is a new sphere of interest for me. Your help in the following would be appreciated. Try not to cringe at my total lack of knowledge.

Just bought the B4A software and getting to grips with it... slowly. I am just trying initially to add in the stock standard Android Navigation Drawer and StdActionBar, which I believe should be available in one of the Android API extra libraries. However, I am having a little difficulty, despite all the research and books and tutorials I have searched. It seems like there are a couple of strategic points missing...

So, I have the Android SDK, where I have downloaded the /Extra/Android Support Library v 19.0.1. I have also created a folder separate from the B4A folder for extra libraries, and configured the path in the software to point to it.

Hence, I have folders: -

C:\Android\android-sdk\extras\android\support (this is where I want to grab the libraries from)
C:\Android\b4aExtraLibraries (this is where I am meant to put in the extra libraries)

So, the way I understand it, I am meant to copy in the .jar and .xml files from the extra libraries to my extra library location. But, I only see .jar files, as follows: -

android-support-v4
android-support-v7-appcompat
android-support-v7-gridlayout
android-support-v7-mediarouter
android-support-v13

I copied those to my b4aExtraLibraries, and then... Okay, so is the B4A IDE now meant to see these library extras; do I have to do something; copy something else; select some menu item? Orrrr, have I totally got this all wrong? In addition, once I have the libraries in there, if it is actually possible to do, how do I know how to access the various objects, methods and properties (they are likely not the right terms...), some reference to them somewhere I guess; Google?