Tool for automatic calculation setLayout.

anallie0

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi

I recently started programming with basic4android, and for the resolution management using the setLayout function. to speed up the calculation of the percentage, I wrote a program in excel that calculates all 4 variables and inserts them into the clipboard. So it is sufficient that you write the name of the object and then press Ctrl + V.

:)

Attachments

• SetLayout.zip
    10 KB · Views: 330

rgately

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks for writing this tool.

I am in the process of coding the percentage sizes and positions of all my views. Its taking a lot of time because of all the trial and error. Your tool is going to save me a lot of time.

Is there a way to implement your calculator code from within a B4A app, so that views can be placed where you want them on your default Layout Variant and then they would automatically resize and position themselves on other devices with different resolutions?

Upvote 0

rgately

Licensed User
Longtime User
It took me a short while to convert your Excel code to B4A. My hope is that the code will resize every view in the activity automatically, regardless of the resolution. I haven't got another device to test it on and I don't know if there are any reasons why I shouldn't take this approach, but here is what I got so far...(please note that I have one little thing to fix before its usable, see below)

B4X:
Sub Set_Layout()
   Dim L,T,W,H As Int   
   Dim Result As String
   Dim CurView As View

For i = 0 To (Activity.NumberOfViews-1)
      CurView=Activity.GetView(i)

L = (CurView.left * 100 / Activity.Width)
      T = (CurView.Top * 100 / Activity.Height)
      W = (CurView.Width * 100 / Activity.Width)
      H = (CurView.Height * 100 / Activity.Height)

Result=L & "%x, " & T & "%y, " & W & "%x, " & H & "%y"
      Activity.Title=Result

CurView.SetLayout(L & "%x", T & "%y", W & "%x", H & "%y")
   Next
End Sub