Why does Designer on Device change my controls?

AxelS

Hi all,

I am quite new to Basic4PPC and I am really amazed about its capabilities. I was always looking for such a development environment. I have used Pocketgcc since years, but Basic4PPC is much much easier to use and much more powerful I think.
Currently, I am using version 5.8 on Windows and on my Eten M800 VGA PPC.
Now comes a little problem that I have:

- the controls which I see during the creation process with Designer on the desktop look different from the controls I see in Designer on the PPC. Even worse: when I run the program, the controls again look different. All in all, I have 4 different looking controls (two in the two designer versions and two in the two running programs). This makes pixel-exact form design quite difficult. I have attached the four pictures generated by only ONE and the same .sbp-source below. Especially with the NumberUpDown and the text-control, the differences are visible.
My question is now: is this a problem of my vga PPC or of the .Net version or of the B4PPC version?

- another problem is that at least the designer on the PPC keeps changing my inputs unauthorizedly! E.g: I design a good looking form with Designer. Then I close designer and run the program: the forms look differently (as explained above). E.g. controls overlap, have enlarged or have moved by certain pixels or the like. Now I try to correct this in designer (e.g. change the height of a text control or the like) but I see that some of the values I have entered last time in Designer have changed! E.g. a text box went from 22 pixel height to 21 pixels unauthorizedly. Whatever I do, I cannot enforce the correctly looking dimensions with Designer.
Maybe this is possible when generating the forms in the source code "by hand", but this cannot be intended by the developers, right?

So does anyone else have these problems? What can I do?

Thanks in advance,
Axel

Attachments

• Designer_Desktop.jpg