Android Question Why is the "Create new AVD" interface stuck on "No target selected"

Maxpero

Licensed User
Longtime User
I installed and tested remote compilation mode and all went right. I am new to B4A and I was very impressed.
I installed components for local compilation and I have a problem creating new AVD's.
I am running the B4A Trial 2.71.
I have installed the Java JDK jJava dk-7u25-windows-i586.exe
I have installed the Android SDK installer_r22.0.5-windows.exe
When I use the B4A / Tools / Run AVD Manager, and fill the fields as indicated in the tutorial I cannot get rid of the "No target selected" message even when I choose a target.
I even installed "Android 4.2.2 - API Level 17" so I could switch between it and "Android 4.3 - API Level 18" to "force" a selection on the interface.
When I choose a Target I don't get any choices updated in the CPU/ABI dropdown. I am not sure if this is related to the problem.
I have a screen shot of the interface...

Attachments

• Installation Issue.jpg
    Installation Issue.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 315

Maxpero

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks Erel,
Thanks for recommending using a real device. I assume it is faster and I will probably choose to do so. For the moment I was trying to complete instructions to build an app with the emulator.
As a beginner I was following instructions for local compilation on page
"http://www.b4x.com/android/downloads.html" which directed me to
"http://www.b4x.com/android/forum/threads/hello-world-installing-android-emulator.6480/"
As you instructed I installed the "Intel x86 Atom System Image" and was able to create an AVD. When I started the AVD it indicated "Failed to open HAX Device" but it started.

Then I compiled the "Hello World" example and got error message
"Cannot find: C:\Android\android-sdk\tools\..\platform-tools\aapt.exe"