1st App help needed

brownel02

Morning folks,

I just found this software and figured I would give it a shot. I am not a programmer but willing to learn the basics and make my first app.

With that said I could use some help getting started.

My App:

I would like to make an app to help me fill out a roster for my daughters' soccer teams. I coach 3 teams and it is tough trying to figure out who is playing what position and when to rotate. Short version of my thoughts are as follow:

- Input the entire team, ranking each kid for offense, defense and goal keeper ability (assign a letter grade or number grade to rank them). This would be done once but could be updated as kids improve.

- Game day menu - check box next to kids who are here and use those kids to populate the roster (not all kids show up for every game, that is part of the trouble). These kids would be pulled from the pool and assigned a position (Striker, Midfielder, Defense or Goal Keeper).

-- Start by picking a Goal Keeper (GK), then a Formation (we play 2-3-3, 3-2-3 or 3-3-2) this depends on how we want to bias the offense or defense depending on who the GK is (strong GK or weaker GK)

-- Each GK will play for the entire quarter. The other players will change shifts at the midway through the quarter.

- I am thinking about a button for each quarter, so I can adjust GK and develop a roster based on that.

Ultimately I would like to be able to print a hard copy with the composite 4 quarters but have the app incase I wanted to make changes on the fly at the game.

I know I have many rules to implement but figured this would be a fun project (although probably pretty tough for a first one).

Any help would be appreciated.

(Mods: If this is in the wrong section please forgive me and move it to the appropriate section, thanks)

prstein

Licensed User
Longtime User
As one who frequently gets into projects beyond my ability level I will offer some general advice.