Licensed User
Longtime User
It fits in a AA battery holder.
http://makezine.com/2016/04/24/meet-arduino-clone-thats-size-aa-battery/

arduino-aaduino-in-a-battery-box.jpg

JakeBullet70

Licensed User
Longtime User
Anyone have any idea how long the batteries would last in a thing like this?

And in thinking about when I was a Electronic tech I worked on pagers. Anyway one thing they did do to prolong battery life was strobe or basically turn off part of the electronics for a few milla-seconds and then back on. It really extended battery life. Aaaahhhhh... Quite a few x-wives ago. :)

dilettante

Licensed User
Longtime User
I love it, but 3 volts of alkaline cells may be pretty marginal for running 3.3v circuits. The alkaline AAs' voltages will probably quickly fall below the usable threshold, meaning that they'll effectively be "dead"while still containing 80% or more of their charge.

It seems like a pair of alkaline 9v batteries in parallel would be a far longer-life alternative, even using a power-wasting linear regulator. Or maybe use a pair of discharge-protected lithium-ion cells and a regulator instead?

Neat idea though, nonethless.

Widget

Licensed User
Longtime User

You could put a multimeter in series with the battery to determine the current draw of the circuit. Put the multimeter on 500ma to 1 amp and if the meter shows a 50ma draw and the AA battery is rated at 2100 mah, then you're looking at APPROXIMATELY 2100/50 = 40 hours. I say approximately because your mileage may vary. Rechargeable batteries like NiMH may last longer than alkaline depending on the power draw.

And of course a 6 volt lantern battery would run it for much longer period of time.

JordiCP

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Total battery life will depend "mostly" on radio ON/OFF ratio, assuming that the rest is neglictible. I suppose that there also low-power states for the arduinos