Any Examples of connecting through a web service using Ms SQL server 2008

sacad

Licensed User
Longtime User
Does anyone maybe have a good example that they willing to share of connecting to sql through a web service? i know there is alot of free web services you can test on and was just wondering? I did go through the tutorial of Ezel but more me its complicated since im new to this and never done this before.
What will be the best approach to do something than this because this is what ive had in mind...
1. get a host service provider that will host my service for me and supports in SQl
2.Write a web service using asp.net in a object oriented route so i can call the functions
3. Test it on a windows pc to see if data can be read from the database
4. No sleep for a week and figuring b4a out and writing a service that connects to the database.
5.Etc

can I use the web service for instance to populate all my friends on the system and then adding them so every time i logged into the system a function must run to determine the organizational structure and then populate the employees for who i can send messages?
Then can you send a email through a written application that allows the user to choose a contact email from phone?
Thank you for all the support:sign0098:

ScarBelly

Licensed User
Longtime User
I went with #2 and wrote a simple web service as a page that runs on our intranet that receives requests from an android device and responds with a JASON string.
The server code for the aspx page takes care of all SQL Server work and just acts as request/response server. The B4A side uses HttpUtils and HttpUtilsService.

This has proved to be fast and easy.

Upvote 0

PHB2

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi ScarBelly - I am doing something very similar to you, but am having trouble decoding the hex return data from the web service. It should decode to json, but instead I get some very random characters.