Automatically fade away after 3 seconds...

luisftv

Licensed User
Longtime User
First, thank you in advance. I am new to Basic4Android and I love it. I am learning as I go. I’m new to programming too.

Here is the problem (task):

I made an app that generates a random number when pressing a button. Now, the number stays on the screen until I press again the button.

How do I make the number fade away (disappear) automatically after, say, three seconds. This way the screen goes blank and is ready for another random number. I am guessing the next number (as a game) but I don’t want to look at the already shown number. Get the idea?

Again, thank you.

mangojack

Licensed User
Longtime User
luisftv .. Welcome to the forum ...

This should get you going ...

B4X:
Sub Process_Globals

Dim Timer1 As Timer

End Sub

Sub Activity_Create(FirstTime As Boolean)

Timer1.Initialize("Timer1",3000)   'initialize timer , event = Timer1_Tick  , Interval = 3000 milliseconds.. = 3 secs
   'Timer1.Interval = 6000         'change the interval to 6 seconds

End Sub

Sub Button_Click

Label1.Text = "7"               'or your random generated numbers
   Timer1.Enabled = True      'enable the timer .. which fires the Timer1_Tick event

End Sub

Sub Timer1_Tick

'after the interval has elapsed .. ie 3 Secs Timer1 will blank Label1 and disable itself ...   
   Label1.Text = ""
   Timer1.Enabled=False

End Sub

You might want also want to read these posts as well
Timer Object
Using a Timer

Cheers mj

Last edited:
Upvote 0

IanMc

Licensed User
Longtime User
Excellent tutorial there by mangojack.

You see that the timer is set to an interval, when that interval is up the timers 'Tick' event is called.

This is a subroutine that is named with the name of your timer and then an underscore and then the word Tick