Android Question B4A newbie vs JAVA/JAR files and Serial comms

bignoze

Licensed User
I'm a freshly licenced B4A newbie having a crack at writing my first app - reading RFID chips with a customised Android tablet RFID reader.

I have no JAVA knowledge. I do have a fair whack of PHP experience. B4A looks the goods and I have followed the introductory tutorials with success.

The tablet manufacturer has provided some demo Java programs and a JAR file 'Serialport-module.jar' which calls Native C files using 'System.loadLibrary("serial_port");' to power up the reader.

Looking at the other JAVA demo files it appears I can use the standard B4A Serial library to Inputstream to /dev/ttyS4 once the reader is powered up.

My question is do I need someone with B4A and JAVA knowledge on the job forums to write a B4A wrapper so that I can load the Classes and Methods from that JAR file?

My B4A newbie guess is YES.

Or am I over complicating things?

DonManfred

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Welcome!

Can you upload the provided jar and any existing example code?

If the file is too large (500kb+) then you need to put the file on Dropbox, GoogleDrive or similar and post the Downloadlink.

Upvote 0

bignoze

Licensed User
Thanks for getting back to me.

I have attached the JAR file as well as 3 of the Java files that call ModuleManager.newInstance().setUHFStatus(true) which seems to be the method that powers up the RFID reader.

Attachments

• Serialport-module.jar
    6.1 KB · Views: 202
  • ConnectRs232.java
    6.4 KB · Views: 219
  • BaseActivity.java
    3.6 KB · Views: 206
  • MainActivity.java
    15.6 KB · Views: 195
Upvote 0

bignoze

Licensed User
Hello again.

I've attached the Java development guide - I've export it to PDF first.

Is this sufficient? There is also a raft of web pages detailing each of the Java programs and Classes etc.