B4J Question B4J Version 5 issue?

Kirby Leeper

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am a B4J newbie but a long time VB6 programmer. I have one server, Win 2008R2 with B4J 4.70 and all works fine. My workstation is now Win10 with NEW install of B4J 5.00 and the very same code just stops and the only message is "Waiting for debugger to start".

Is Win10 OK to use for OS?
Is this a 5.00 issue?
Any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

P. S. this is a great product! Keep up the good work! I purchased entire B4X suite.

tchart

Licensed User
Longtime User
Did you get a firewall message? The debugger needs access to some ports. Check your firewall.

Upvote 0

Kirby Leeper

Licensed User
Longtime User
Did you get a firewall message? The debugger needs access to some ports. Check your firewall.
Thank you for the idea and I should have pre-stated that I already had turned the firewall completely off. It was already set to ask me anyway.
Any other ideas greatly appreciated or I will try and download 4.70 again and try that instead of 5.00 beta I guess???
Thanks again...

Upvote 0

tchart

Licensed User
Longtime User
Never had a problem on windows 10. Just make sure you have the right version of Java SDK (not JRE), allow firewall exceptions and you arent running two instances of B4J as the instances will compete for the debug port.

Upvote 0

DonManfred

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
and the very same code just stops and the only message is "Waiting for debugger to start".
DEBUG compilations only runs when the IDE is connected/your app is started as result of a new debug compile and is started by the ide.

If you want to run your app alone you should use "Release" Compilation.

B4J (and even B4A) runs very fine on Windows 10.

Upvote 0

Cableguy

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
or I will try and download 4.70 again and try that instead of 5.00 beta I guess???
Thanks again...