Classes

timwil

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

Funny that we still need to discuss in 2012 whether or not the addition of classes would be required...

I can't think of any valid reason why B4A would be better of without classes.
The VB6 approach ( classes supported, but not mandatory) would be a sensible approach. It would keep programming for absolute beginners on B4A very simple ( no classes) but still offer the possibility for more complex solutions.

In my opinion..Although I love B4A and admire what has been done until now, B4A will only just remain a toy without class support.

No way that any serious developing company would adopt B4A as a development tool for complex programs without classes.

Personally for me the Android devlopment with Java was a little bit hard to grasp, so I started with B4A..learned the basics of Android programming and than switched back to Java..and yes..now it started to make more sense.

I will always be B4A very greatfull for that. Best money ever spent to learn Android devlopment..

So B4A is a very good learning tool, in best case a tool for rapid prototyping but nothing more than that.

Question is : where does Erel see B4A in, let's say, 2 or 3 years ?

I disagree. I have written a couple very complex systems already utilizing GPS, HTTP, Bluetooth, Sockets....and so on. It is just a matter of preference - sure classes might make some things easier but do not dismiss b4a as a toy - this is real serious stuff!

COBRASoft

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm developing an industry app using B4A. Yes, it is doable, but not an easy task. Lucky I'm developing longer before classes were introduced in 'Basic', so I'm thinking like 15~20 years ago :). Classes would give my source code more structure and easier to maintain. Speed wise... It wouldn't change a bit.

timwil

Licensed User
Longtime User