Copy row from table to table

petrbury

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi everybody,
is there some quick way how to copy one row from one table to another ? I have a table with more than 30 collumns and need to copy some of rows to another table.
Now I have a loop where every cell of appropriate row is moved to relevant cell on the second table. It works OK, but very, very slow on my device.
So I wonder, if exists any better way to do it. Something like " Copy table1.row(n) to table2.row(y) ".
Thanks in advance
Petr

RB Smissaert

Licensed User
Longtime User
Looking at all the table methods and properties I wouldn't think there is a better way, but I am not an expert. Maybe there is something wrong with your loop and best to post the relevant bit of code.

RBS

petrbury

Licensed User
Longtime User
Well, this is part of my program. I don't think, there is something wrong in it, it works OK. There is only a lot of operation needed to copy rows to another table.
Petr

Attachments

• Part.sbp
    959 bytes · Views: 237

RB Smissaert

Licensed User
Longtime User
Looks OK to me, just 2 things I can think of:

1. tblSlov.RowCount
as this doesn't change in the first loop you could maybe put this count in a variable and use that instead, saving to do the count every time. I am not sure how much B4P is optimized and maybe it does this already under the bonnet, so in that case you won't gain anything.

2. If you doing a lot of rows then it might be an option to right the whole table to SQLite, do whatever needs doing in there and then write back to
the table. Or maybe if the table was based on SQLite data in the first place then you don't even need to write back to SQLite.

RBS

Cableguy

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Looking at your code I got to ask...
Why use do while as a substitute for a For...next loop?

The code would be much cleaner..
Also, Why a seperate loop to delete the Row?

IE.

For x= 0 To Table.count
If table1.Cell("CollumnName",x)=TestValue Then