Android Question Installation and working of Base app for new user to rapid build app

sivakrith

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello,

I'm new to B4A. Just learning this. After finishing B4X Getting Started Booklet, I found this thread

I downloaded < with Firebase option> , copied it to a folder, opened it.

1. added required libraries < anything missing? >
1599900423327.png

2. Modified these lines, by removing one parameter < before the last one>
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("home.png","Home",False, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "Home")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("search.png","Search",False, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "Search")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("","",True, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("review.png","Rate",False, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "Rate")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("play-store.png","More Apps",False, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "More Apps")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("","",True, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "")
clvmenu.Add(CreateListItem("logout.png","Exit",False, clvmenu.AsView.Width, 50dip), "Exit")

3. Added : in Sub Process_Globals
Private xui As XUI

4. Modified the line, by commenting
'Msgbox("This app needs write data to your phone. Without this permission, this app cant work! Please 'Allow' to continue","Allow app to save file")
To
xui.MsgboxAsync("This app needs write data to your phone. Without this permission, this app cant work! Please 'Allow' to continue","Allow app to save file")

5. Created and downloaded google-services.json

6. Modified Build configurations to match the package name as done in google-services

7. Modified the android targetSDKVersion to 28 <not sure whether this is a must >

Result: No error shown but the app crashes in the mobile <debug mode>

What could be the reason ?

Happiness Always
BKR Sivaprakash

Note: Since the thread says it's old, I'm starting a new thread.

sivakrith

Licensed User
Longtime User
The device is connected. < checked by running other apps >