My First App - Compile & Run on Device

xeir

Licensed User
I have a simple question.

I'm sure I just missed something here, but, just in case.

I went through the 'My First App' section, created the demo app, it worked great as to be expected.

I compiled it and copied it over to the device, and it does not run.
I then used SetupBuilder and created a CAB file, same result.

I'm sure that I missed something extremely simple and just haven't seen the answer on the forums, probably just blind today, or my search skills are lacking, grin.

What am I missing?

I admit, I'm just getting started, but I am eagerly looking forward to replacing what I had previously done in HanDBase with a much more versatile version using Basic4PPC. (Yes, I deal mostly with databases of some type.)

I just like going through things step by step, mostly to torture myself, so that I know how everything works down the line.

Regards

specci48

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello xeir,

welcome to the basic4ppc forum!

... I compiled it and copied it over to the device, and it does not run. ...
Can you please be more precise explaining what you did and what exactly happens?
Have you compiled for the desktop, or for the device or smartphone? Which compile options did you use?
What happens if you try to start your .exe on the device? Do you get any error message or just happens nothing?

Maybe you can upload your .exe so we can have a close look on it.

specci48

xeir

Licensed User
A second question along the same lines.

I modified the SQL Example to use my own SQLite db for testing purposes and compiled it.

The compilation merged possible files into it, minus one which it says should be distributed with the executable: SQLNative\Device\Syatem.Data.SQLite.dll

Basically what it comes down to is knowing what I need to compile and how to implement and include any necessary file along with the app so that it is functional.