New to B4X; looking for help to jumpstart a project

SyD

Hello everyone,

I'm new to B4X but an experienced programmer with 20 years of industrial and shop floor automation projects using different languages such as C, Assembly
and LADDER to communicate with PLCs using MODBUS and OPC/UA servers.

Over the last 10 years, my career evolved into management roles so I had to trade programming for Excel spreadsheets and PowerPoint presentations.

I recently decided to quit my job, go back to programming and have now found my first potential customer. They have given me a limited amount of time to put together a proof-of-concept which I don't think will be enough if I have to take time to familiarize myself with B4X to the level required to build a proper demo.

I'm looking for someone who could help accelerate things.

Here is a rough description of the functionalities I need:

1 - a B4A app with a preferences pane to enable the user to select from a list of alarms he wishes to subscribe to.
2 - user preferences would be sent to a PostgreSQL DB via web service.
3 - the app would run in background and send its location (LON/LAT) to the DB at intervals.
4 - the app would listen for alerts pushed bt a server and wake up to display the message and offer actions to the user (ex: stop, start, reset, etc)
(I'm thinking MQTT would be good to push to the app but open to recommendations which could be simpler or more efficient..email or SMS maybe ?)
5 - user-selected action would need to be communicated back to the server (an industrial controller (PLC) using OPC/UA. (see https://opcfoundation.org)

I know that if I have a properly structured demo covering all the functionalities required I will be able to fill in the blanks and configure it.

I don't expect it to be free but have limited funds.

I am also looking for a demo reading/writing to a PLC using MODBUS.

Thank you.

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User