Android Question Problems with decoding QRCodeReader v1.02

FernandoGuedes

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello everybody.

I've successfully used @Johan Schoeman excellent library for a while. But I'm having an unusual problem when trying to decode a QRCode in particular (This one is attached). The reading through the scanner is perfect and brings the information perfectly. But when I try to decode it the result is "null" in the result of the attempt.

Logger conectado a: Xiaomi Redmi Note 8
--------- beginning of main
Copying updated assets files (1)
*** Service (starter) Create ***
** Service (starter) Start **
** Activity (main) Create, isFirst = true **
path = /storage/emulated/0/DDCZJG02.jpg
bMap = android.graphics.Bitmap@f6185c7
Decoded = null
** Activity (main) Resume **
** Activity (main) Pause, UserClosed = false **

This is the first time this error occurs and as I'm still a beginner in B4A, I would like to understand a be able to predict and avoid this error.

Has this ever happened to anyone?

Thank you for your attention!

Attachments

• DDCZJG02.jpg
    DDCZJG02.jpg
    5.6 KB · Views: 114
Last edited:

drgottjr

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
not all qr codes can be read. there are a number of reasons for this.
in your case, i would say the example you posted does not have the required "quiet" area surrounding the code. think of it as a white border around the code.
the "null" reported by the reader means it did not recognize the image as a qr code. it could, in fact, be an incorrectly produced qr code, but i think the issue is the missing frame.

if i give it a nice little frame, i have no trouble reading it.

Attachments

• quiet.png
    quiet.png
    10 KB · Views: 107
Last edited:
Upvote 0

delgadol

Hello everybody.