Android Question [SOLVED] Sanity check: Does the Android emulator work with geofences?

Sandman

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
EDIT: Short answer is no. Read post #22 for a bit more info and possible ugly workaround.

I'm having trouble getting the emulator working with geofences. Like, this reference code by @Erel, which works fine on my real phone, doesn't seem to work at all in the emulator. I am pretty new with working with the emulator, so I might have misunderstood something, but I can't figure out what that could be.

It would be great if somebody could help me test that it actually works:
  1. Use the example found at the geofence post
  2. Change the geofence location in the code to something you know where it is
  3. Compile as release and install into the emulator, which also automatically runs the app
  4. Make sure the log in B4A says the app successfully added the geofence
  5. Drop the app into the background
  6. Make sure to NOT launch any other apps that request location (like Google Maps etc)
  7. Open the location settings in the emulator (by pressing the ... icon in the vertical toolbar window to the right)
  8. Set the position to be near your geofence
  9. Wait a couple of minutes, did the app react and say that you entered the geofence?
  10. Set the position to be far away from the geofence
  11. Wait a couple of minutes, did the app react and say that you exited the geofence?

For the record, I'm testing this on a 6 inch emulated device with API30 API32 and Play Store. (I don't have the exact name available at the moment.) I should also mention that I have verified, using Google Maps, that when I do the above, the emulated device actually gets its position updated. So everything seems to work fine, it's just that I can't get the geofences to trigger.

UPDATE

To better explain my situation, here's what I installed from SDK Manager (because having an image with Play store would be more like the average users, I thought)