Android Question Arduino > Android USB connection

Declan

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,
Please be gentle - I am a complete newbie :(
I have purchased the Full Version of B4A and am looking for an example of an app that will read messages sent from an Arduino UNO R3 connected to the USB port of my Android Tablet and display the message in a window.
The message is sent at regular intervals from the Arduino UNO.
What I am trying to mimic is that the Android Tablet will act as a Serial Monitor (similar to the Serial Monitor in the Arduino IDE).
All the examples that I have found are way more complex than expect and after reading and searching for hours - I finally succumb.

Declan

Licensed User
Longtime User
Yes, I did.
However, that refers to the Arduino Mega 2560 or Mega ADK.
If I select either of those Arduino boards in the Arduino IDE, the code compiles with no problem.
But the code will not compile if I select the Arduino UNO board in the Arduino IDE.

The errors on compile are:
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp: In static member function 'static void MAX3421E::setRST(uint8_t)':
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:58: error: 'PORTJ' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:58: error: 'PJ2' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:60: error: 'PORTJ' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:60: error: 'PJ2' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp: In static member function 'static uint8_t MAX3421E::readINT()':
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:65: error: 'PINE' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files\Arduino\libraries\USB_Host_Shield\Max3421e.cpp:65: error: 'PE6' was not declared in this scope