Android Question Astreams _NewData running later than should?

ByteCounter

Licensed User
I am new to B4A and am trying to communicate with a Serial device using USBSerial v2.4

I am having difficulty clearly understanding event code priorities for timer events and Astreams_NewData.
The priority of B4A's internal messaging queue system is not clearly explained (at least I can't find documentation)

I want to query a USB>Serial printer by sending the relevant ESCPOS command (working, no problems)
But after sending I need to read a status data byte returned as a result of the above command (using Astreams _NewData, working)
I can do all this OK.

I want to implement a timeout waiting for reply in case the printer is not connected so the app doesn't hang waiting on a reply that will never come.

This is what I'm doing. I am not using Starter Service, all code is in Main.
1. Send ESC POS query status command to printer.
2. Set a (global process) flag RX_NewDataFlag = False (this flag is changed to True by Astreams _NewData event to indicate that we received something)
3. Set a (global process) flag RX_Time_Expired = False and Enable RX timer (ticks every 500mS). The Timer is initialized in Sub Activity_Create by RxTimer.Initialize("RxTimer", 500). The idea here is to use the RX timer to determine if we have finished waiting for an expected reply.
4. Loop until the RX_Time_Expired flag changes to True, indicating that timeout has occurred
5. Check RX_NewDataFlag to see if it is True (meaning data was received). If no data then flag would be False so print error message.

And now the relevant code:
RXTimer_Tick:
B4X:
Sub RxTimer_Tick
   'timer ticks 500mS (RxTimer is setup in ActivityCreate)
   Log("RxTimer tick!")
   RxTimerTickCount = RxTimerTickCount + 1
   If RxTimerTickCount = 4 Then
     RX_Time_Expired = True
     RxTimer.Enabled = False   'disable timer
     RxTimerTickCount = 0 ' reset Rx counter for next pass