Basic4Android development on the Device?

colin9876

Licensed User
With the old Basic4ppc you could develop and run apps on the device itself.

Have I missed something, is a device running Basic4Android available or is it only desktop development now?
If so could this be a Wishlist item???

JesseW

Licensed User
Longtime User
@colin: see this thread http://www.b4x.com/forum/bugs-wishlist/6792-device-development.html

@Erel: you have another supporter of an android basic interpreter. Being a truck driver, I have my phone with me always. At shippers, receivers, truck stops, restaurants, etc... my big, heavy 17" Dell, not so much. Its a monster. More like a mobile desktop :) I saw agrahams lib in the above thread link, but im so new to android, I wouldn't know what to do with it. For now im using the Mintoris interpreter, but it lacks the power and features I crave. Im so glad to see you enter the android market! Wishing you the best!

Jesse

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I saw agrahams lib in the above thread link, but im so new to android, I wouldn't know what to do with it.
Have a play with it. The included demo is a full-blown device IDE that can load, save and edit and run programs and there is a load of very simple sample scripts and a comprehensive help for the language so you don't have to program anything to try it. However it has no I/O or graphics as I intended that calls to the hosting application would provide whatever such capabilities were required in a given situation.

JesseW

Licensed User
Longtime User
Have a play with it. The included demo is a full-blown device IDE...

Thanks guy. I was having a problem getting the hello world program to compile, but it was just a freak. I deleted the program, re-entered it and it compiled, so we are out of neutral and into first gear now :)

So I downloaded your lib, placed the folder in my code directory, loaded the b4a file into the editor, clicked the run icon, and got the following...