MegatenFreak Active Member Licensed User Jan 23, 2021 #1 Hello. I have two quick questions, so I thought I'd better ask them in one post: 1. I don't want to see the logs for my previous run when I build and run my app, but even though I press the "clear" button and empty the log window and I've also checked the "Clear logs when deploying" in the IDE options, the log window still loads all the previous logs as soon as the app starts running. (I use B4A Bridge and my phone to run it) Any suggestions? 2. I'm using CallSub to call a public sub in my main activity from another activity: Code: 'In the MAIN activity Public Sub Test_Sub 'Some code End Sub 'In another activity that runs later CallSub(Main, "Test_Sub") But it doesn't call that sub. Is it not possible to use CallSub like that? (I tried using CallSubDelayed, but it messed up everything) Thanks a lot in advance.
Hello. I have two quick questions, so I thought I'd better ask them in one post: 1. I don't want to see the logs for my previous run when I build and run my app, but even though I press the "clear" button and empty the log window and I've also checked the "Clear logs when deploying" in the IDE options, the log window still loads all the previous logs as soon as the app starts running. (I use B4A Bridge and my phone to run it) Any suggestions? 2. I'm using CallSub to call a public sub in my main activity from another activity: Code: 'In the MAIN activity Public Sub Test_Sub 'Some code End Sub 'In another activity that runs later CallSub(Main, "Test_Sub") But it doesn't call that sub. Is it not possible to use CallSub like that? (I tried using CallSubDelayed, but it messed up everything) Thanks a lot in advance.
DonManfred Expert Licensed User Longtime User Jan 23, 2021 #2 You need to use CallSubDelayed when calling from another Activity. Switch to B4XPages and forget about such issues. Upvote 0
You need to use CallSubDelayed when calling from another Activity. Switch to B4XPages and forget about such issues.
M MikeSW17 Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Jan 23, 2021 #4 I see the same as you. It seems the log is only permanently cleared if you delete the app from the device and re-install. I could be wrong, but that's what I see. Upvote 0
I see the same as you. It seems the log is only permanently cleared if you delete the app from the device and re-install. I could be wrong, but that's what I see.
Erel B4X founder Staff member Licensed User Longtime User Jan 24, 2021 #5 Clearing the logs only clears the logs in the IDE. The logs come from the system logs and cannot be cleared. Upvote 0
Clearing the logs only clears the logs in the IDE. The logs come from the system logs and cannot be cleared.
MegatenFreak Active Member Licensed User Jan 24, 2021 #6 I see! Thanks. It was annoying how I mixed up the logs with previous builds, so I thought I'd start the app with a clear sign that divides them, like three rows of stars, for example. Upvote 0
I see! Thanks. It was annoying how I mixed up the logs with previous builds, so I thought I'd start the app with a clear sign that divides them, like three rows of stars, for example.
M MikeSW17 Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Jan 24, 2021 #7 Since the logs obviously can't grow forever towards infinite size, how and when are they deleted/truncated? Upvote 0
Since the logs obviously can't grow forever towards infinite size, how and when are they deleted/truncated?
Erel B4X founder Staff member Licensed User Longtime User Jan 24, 2021 #8 They are indeed truncated by the system. Upvote 0