Java Question Compiling Jars for Libraries

bloxa69

Licensed User
Longtime User
In my quest for hardware accelerated live wallpaper i started playing with different existing B4A libraries. As the first step in the learning process I was able to decompile them, create new packages and classes in Eclipse, paste the code, build the pathes and then recompile new jars. All my new libs i messed with in that way worked the same as original B4A jars.
Now, i tried to do the same thing with Erels Live Wallpaper library and got null pointer errors when trying to use my new recompiled jar instead of the original. In B4A IDE I don't get any errors and get all properties and methods just like in the original library. I only get null pointer errors while running the app on device. The app code is exactly the same, i just switch libraries in IDE.
I didn't change the library code in any way and both jars seem exactly the same to me, though I didn't do a full comparison check. I am attaching the zip with 2 libraries - the original and mine. Mine is called lwp.jar. If anybody could tell me why one is working (the original) and another is not (lwp.jar) i would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

bloxa69

Licensed User
Longtime User
OK, now I a did full comparison check and found some differences which from the Java's point of view should be the same things, so I think those differences shouldn't cause any problems.
Examples:
B4X:
'original code:

'code removed as per thedesolatesoul suggestion

Technically, those are identical pieces of code, just formatted in a slightly different way.

Also, I've tried opening the original LWP library and my copy in Winrar and drag and drop the classes from Erel's jar to mine and after that my library would start working. Sometimes it was enough just to replace B4AEngine class with the original one from Erel's jar and that would fix my library.