Font Sizes

davidc

Hi All

I've been using this great tool for a few months now and making good progress, but have come across an odd issue.

I'm developing an app for a screen of size 480x800. When deployed on my HTC desire, a large font size (100dip) is perfectly displayed as I would expect. However, when it's displayed on a tablet with the identical resolution, the font does not resize and instead moves to the top left of a rectangle. The code I'm using to explore this issue is:

canvas1.DrawRect(rectime,Colors.yellow,True,1)
Canvas1.DrawText(left(strTime,2), 17dip, 110dip, Typeface.DEFAULT_BOLD, 80dip, Colors.Blue, "LEFT")
Canvas1.DrawText(":", 160dip, 100dip, Typeface.DEFAULT_BOLD, 80dip, Colors.Blue, "CENTER")
Canvas1.DrawText(right(strTime,3), 173dip, 110dip, typeface.DEFAULT_BOLD, 80dip, Colors.Blue, "LEFT")
activity.Invalidate2(rectime)

As far as I can see, everything is in dip, but even that shouldn't matter as the display resolution is the same between the devices. The sim is OK as well.

Is there a system/device imposed absolute maximum font size or something?

Thanks

David

eps

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
This will be due to the dpi difference between the two. Ideally when you define graphical items in B4A you need to outline them for all of the resolutions..

i.e. currently you have 1 or 2 defined for 800x480, dpi 240 (with possibly the other "standard" resolution of 320x480 defined as well - these two seem to be standard ones for Android and are usually automatically catered for in B4A).

You need another one defined as 800x480, dpi 160.

Then you need to handle positioning of them, separately.. :)

HTH

Upvote 0

eps

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
"However, when it's displayed on a tablet with the identical resolution, the font does not resize and instead moves to the top left of a rectangle"