Android Question How to add a few bytes or remove some in a binary file

JOANORSKY

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi there.. once again,
so.. i am facing a little issue again (as usual). Since i am relatively new to B4A on file manipulation i have now faced a problem that some of you have as well. I am trying to obfuscate some of my assets files by intentionally remove a few bytes from the header and on user demand i want to add those missing values again and by this way restore the original binary for usage.

So far i have came with this code :

B4X:
Sub decode_file(path_to_save As String, Original_file As String, Saved_file As String)
    Dim In As InputStream '<--------- from file to array of byte
    In = File.OpenInput(File.DirAssets, Original_file)
    Dim out As OutputStream
    out.InitializeToBytesArray(1000)
    File.Copy2(In, out) '<---- This does the copying
    Dim data() As Byte
    '-------------------------------*****START OF ADD MISSING BYTES*******--------------------------
    data = "%PDF-1.5".GetBytes("UTF8") '<---- as it seems this can't be done
    data = data & out.ToBytesArray '<---- as it seems this can't be done
    '-------------------------------*****END OF ADDING MISSING BYTES*******--------------------------
    out.Flush '<---- Flushing of the buffer in order to be used again
    '--------- Now it is being converted from array of byte to file again
    out =  File.OpenOutput(path_to_save, Saved_file, False)
    out.WriteBytes(data, 0, data.Length)
    out.Close
    In.Close
End Sub

In order to remove a few random bytes from the reading that i might not want there i just need to replace the code as follows :
B4X:
out.WriteBytes(data, 0, data.Length)

by

B4X:
out.WriteBytes(data, Start_index, data.Length-Ending-Index)

But.. how do i add a few bytes in the start of the array?

I was trying to do this :
B4X:
    '-------------------------------************--------------------------