how to create toast message

cwt

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am new to Java and Android so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

How do you create a toast message?

Thanks

nfordbscndrd

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am new to Java and Android so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

How do you create a toast message?

You can easily find such information and related info by using the search function at the upper right corner of the forum pages as well as by searching the Documentation Wiki (highlighted in yellow above left).

See the thread How to Ask A Question for more tips.

Upvote 0

cwt

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks for your patience, I did multiple searches prior to asking and could not find anything that showed how to declare a toast.

I would not ask without doing a search first. I am new to learning Java and Android but have been programming since 1974.

You would be better off to not assume everyone on this forum is an 18 year old kid.

Thanks

Upvote 0

Kevin

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm not sure I am following you.... there is nothing to declare for toast messages, you just write the statement. Kind of like logging:

B4X:
Log ("Log this!")

Are you having problems getting toast messages to show?

Upvote 0

nfordbscndrd

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks for your patience, I did multiple searches prior to asking and could not find anything that showed how to declare a toast.

I would not ask without doing a search first. I am new to learning Java and Android but have been programming since 1974.

You would be better off to not assume everyone on this forum is an 18 year old kid.

When I search for "toast message", lots of examples of using it show up (see screenshot below), so the only asssumption I made was that you hadn't tried searching -- nothing to do with your age or years of programming experience, so no offense was intended. I was just pointing out some resources here.

toastmsg.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0

cwt

Licensed User