J joneden Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 14, 2014 #1 Hi all, I have a bizarre issue whereby my app is now not closing a connection to the camera properly when used in conjunction with the NFC scanning functionality. In the logs an event occurs "Killing previous instance (Main)" that seems to stop that issue happening. What would trigger the event and is there a way to manually force it? Regards Jon
Hi all, I have a bizarre issue whereby my app is now not closing a connection to the camera properly when used in conjunction with the NFC scanning functionality. In the logs an event occurs "Killing previous instance (Main)" that seems to stop that issue happening. What would trigger the event and is there a way to manually force it? Regards Jon
Erel B4X founder Staff member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 16, 2014 #2 Are you closing the camera in Activity_Pause? Upvote 0
J joneden Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 17, 2014 #3 Hi Erel, Yes although I took it out but didn't make any difference. What is that "Killing previous instance (main)" message - I assume that it is coming from Basic4Android. That definitely seems to be doing something that makes the difference.... Cheers Jon Upvote 0
Hi Erel, Yes although I took it out but didn't make any difference. What is that "Killing previous instance (main)" message - I assume that it is coming from Basic4Android. That definitely seems to be doing something that makes the difference.... Cheers Jon
J joneden Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 17, 2014 #4 I should add that on the situations where this message appeared the app worked normally but then when it doesn't appear I end up with the error. I'm doing all the normal close down calls on the objects. Upvote 0
I should add that on the situations where this message appeared the app worked normally but then when it doesn't appear I end up with the error. I'm doing all the normal close down calls on the objects.
Erel B4X founder Staff member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 18, 2014 #5 This message means that there were two instances of the same activity. The old one was destroyed (finished). Upvote 0
This message means that there were two instances of the same activity. The old one was destroyed (finished).
J joneden Active Member Licensed User Longtime User Mar 18, 2014 #6 It did help as it was indicating that I had an issue with an object closing down. Fixed the main issue yesterday but then realised there was a knock on issue. Just fixed it now and that's a hell of a relief! Cheers Jon Upvote 0
It did help as it was indicating that I had an issue with an object closing down. Fixed the main issue yesterday but then realised there was a knock on issue. Just fixed it now and that's a hell of a relief! Cheers Jon