Need Some General Help for Android Programming

Movado

Hey Guys,

I recently started developing applications for android and stumbled upon Basic4Android. I took a course a few years ago for visual basic and the code is similar and easy to learn. I have a few general questions though.

1) How to you program a button to exit or quit the application? For example:
B4X:
Sub Button1_Click
    'code that closes application
End Sub

2) How do i switch between multiple layouts. For example, i have layout1 open with the application and when a button is clicked, it switches to layout2.

3) How do i set the background of a layout to a picture and does it need to be a specific format?

I know they are really easy questions but your help is much appreciated, thanks!

(Sorry for putting in wrong section!)

Last edited:

James Moxham

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm still learning this too. In answer to 1, I think it is
B4X:
   activity.finish ' close the program

I'm pretty sure 2 has been answered on this forum recently. Someone will hopefully chime in soon with the answers to 2 and 3.

Upvote 0

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
First I recommend you to start with the tutorials listed here: Basic4android - Android programming with Gui designer
2) You can use multiple activities or you can load the layout to a panel and add the panel to the activity. Then you can remove the panel. Create a new one and load the second layout to this panel.
3) In the designer you should add an image (all popular types supported) to the Images List, then change the activity Drawable to BitmapDrawable and choose the image.

Upvote 0

Movado

Thanks i will try the code out to close the program. And thanks Erel for the info on added pictures, i figured out how to change between layouts as well. Do you know how i can, by pressing a button open another application installed on my phone, specifically when the button is pressed Google Maps opens up?

Last edited:
Upvote 0

mramos