Android Question Not initialized errors

angelo56

I have a big problem with b4a and the development of an app to control a telescope via bluetooth.
The program is still under development but has no errors, except for the problem I am now describing. At some point in development, many of the globals that declare the views defined in the designer get the "not initialized" error.
I tried every way but I couldn't do anything.
I point out that it is my first attempt to use B4A.
I noticed that by momentarily commenting on line 39 or 64, all the "not initialized" errors disappear. What means?
Please help me, I don't know what to do anymore.
I tried on another PC and it does the same thing.
Sorry for my "google english".
Thank you

Angelo

Attachments

• LX200Control.zip
    76.1 KB · Views: 30

klaus

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
The problem is that you try to load layouts with an Integer value (currentPage) instead of a String.
Line 154 : Activity.LoadLayout(currentPage)
B4X:
Sub Activity_Create(FirstTime As Boolean)
    currentPage = 1
    Activity.LoadLayout(currentPage)

The same in line 721.

But for other pages you have written this routine:
B4X:
Sub manageviews
    ' imposta la grafica della pagina indicata in currentPage
    Activity.RemoveAllViews
    Private p As String = currentPage
    Activity.LoadLayout(p)
    If currentPage = 2 Then
        pnlCoordP2.Top = 100dip
    End If
End Sub
Here you transform the integer value of currentPage into a String to load the layout.

Try to replace the two lines Activity.LoadLayout(currentPage) by manageviews.
B4X:
Sub Activity_Create(FirstTime As Boolean)
    currentPage = 1
    manageviews

Unfortunately your page management is not the best.

Anyway, the advice from Erel is the best solution.

Concerning the layouts, it seems that you have setup them for a specific device.
Because you use the 'standard' screen size of 320 x 480, but in your layouts there are views outsides the screen.