Android Question Offline login

Zizi

Hi there, I am new in B4A just wanted to ask is it possible to create a SQLite database that connects to an Api to retrieve login details (username and password) online and also allow the user to login offline (when not connected to the internet)? if so, can someone please point me to the right direction.

Solution
Maybe this is not exactly what you want, but you can check this example.

You can see in the Initialize sub, you check if you have logged previously. Obviously, the first time you log in, you need to be connected to internet.
Not sure if you even want to have a copy of the users and passwords of the online database in a sqlite database to check if the user can log even without internet.

B4X:
Public Sub Initialize
    B4XPages.GetManager.LogEvents = True
    jRDC.Initialize
    xui.SetDataFolder("jRDC2Sample")
    KVS.Initialize(xui.DefaultFolder,"kvs") 'We use KVS to save the logged user (Usaremos KVS para guardar el usuario que inicia sesión)

If KVS.ContainsKey("user") Then  'If we've logged before, go directly to PageData...

Xandoca

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi there, I am new in B4A just wanted to ask is it possible to create a SQLite database that connects to an Api to retrieve login details (username and password) online and also allow the user to login offline (when not connected to the internet)? if so, can someone please point me to the right direction.
Hi,

I understood that you want to create an application that authenticate using an online api, right?
Then login details (user and password) will be stored in SQL Database to be able to login even with no internet connection, right?

is that what you want? if so, you can do it.

Upvote 0

Zizi

You mean stay logged in even without Internet? Of course, yes.
You may use SQLite, keyvaluestore or any persistent storage to keep a log in flag.
Hi,

I understood that you want to create an application that authenticate using an online api, right?