Other Raspberry, B4J and B4A: webserver+websocket app how to?

udg

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi all,

I read many tutorials and opened some projects with the goal to understand how to use my new Raspi board as a server for projects that go from serving a few web pages to manage a websocket-based app to be written in B4A.

I am new to some of the technologies involved so am facing a bit of confusion. Please correct my sentences below so to simplify my learning and test deployment.

Nohup
Using Putty to open an ssh session with a running Raspi board, I then need the nohup <command> & sequence to let the command stay active when I close the putty session. Right?
In this context the <command> should be like java -jar mysuperserver?

Running 24/7
Once I have a fully functional "superserver" what am I expected to do to launch it automatically everytime the Raspi board is booted? Using a cron table? Or editing the etc/rc.local file?

Superserver
With this I simply mean that I'd like to have a single server able to serve a few html/css pages as well as to act as the server side of a websocket-based service implementing a push service consumed by a B4A client app.
Is this doable or is it better to have two distinct servers, one for web services and the other devoted to the push service?

All the above said, is MySQL the only other element I have to install on Raspi to have my project come to life?

TIA for your comments and hints.

Umberto

Last edited:

rwblinn

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

have a look at this B4J Webserver project running 24/7 on a Raspberry Pi (acting as a Home Server).

To note: The B4J webserver is started as a deamon (read the readme file in the www/sh folder where I decribed on how to set the service up).

Upvote 0

udg

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi Robert,

thank you for your post and for the great B4J HowTos site.