Search WebView for Text

gobblegob

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

I have searched all the documents and tutorials but failed to find out the best way to search documents for a string.
eg if i have 2 html files and i want to search for a string, and if found return which html file it found it in. How would be the best way to do this?

Cheers Waz

gobblegob

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks heaps Erel. I will give that method a go when I finish work. I am sorry for such noob questions I am still learning the basics. :)

PS I am having a lot of fun with basic4android.

cheers Waz

Upvote 0

nfordbscndrd

Licensed User
Longtime User
You can read the files with File.ReadString and then search for a string with String.IndexOf.
B4X:
Dim h1 as String
h1 = File.ReadString(...)
if h1.IndexOf("some text") > -1 then ...

I have a pretty long Help file which is displayed in a WebView. After I have searched for a string and found it, is there any simple way to cause WebView to display the section of the document with the text in it (before I resort to a non-simple way)?

Upvote 0

nfordbscndrd

Licensed User
Longtime User
When I search a local HTML file for text and when found, link back to the closest preceding anchor, I have three problems. One is that the target text is not highlighted, making it hard to find, and I can't figure any reasonable way of highlighting it in WebView.

Another problem is that the target text may not be close enough to the previous anchor to appear on the screen when I link to that anchor. This takes me back to my previous "dumb" idea of having to sprinkle anchors throughout the file every couple of paragraphs (and my actual help file is 100k, so that's a lot of sprinkling).