Star System is Too Generous

Mahares

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I like to see the grading system be more stringent. You can easily get to the expert level in no time by simply asking questions or simply responding with things like thanks, +1, etc. I noticed that sometimes users hesitate to respond to a question posed by an Veteran or Expert because they get intimidated by their stars, even though they are very familiar with the subject and can help. Many new users get identified as newbie or junior, etc, but in reality they may know a lot about the subject in question. I, for one, like to see my stars drop as I do not consider myself veteran or expert because most of the stars I got, were accumulated by asking for help. I hope Erel considers this. I do not mind being dropped way down as I am still learning.

Cableguy

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I do second this.

In some other forums I usually browse, there is a "user voting system" of sorts implementation...
By this it's the uses who rate the feedback of another user... what for me, seems to be a lot more fair for those who really know what they are writing about... which is not always my case...

NJDude

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I don't pay much attention to stars, badges, crowns, medals etc, I just read the content of the post.

Assuming that just because someone has 5 stars must be an expert is like assuming that a guy driving a Ferrari is a millionaire, he might just be a Valet Parking dude :D

kickaha

Licensed User
Longtime User
I object to being described as a Basic4ppc Expert as I have never used it :signOops:

Other than that I take each post (and poster) on their merits and do not pay attention to stars.

susu

Licensed User
Longtime User
We need "Thanks button" like other forums. :)

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
Updated table:

SS-2012-10-14_09.01.57.png

Mahares

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User