TableView Individual Cell Colors

Guardian17

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm still fairly new at B4A.

I have a word game app that I'm trying to write. TableView is a great help for this app, but I would like to be able to control the color of each individual label in a row (Highlighted, Eliminated, Unselected colors for each label) instead of having each entire row appearing as only one of two alternating colors.

Each label in a row is a single letter, and my Main code keeps track of the colors using an array called AlphaStatus(26). The AlphaStatus array values take on values of 0 (UnSelected), 1 (Highlighted), or 2 (Eliminated) to determine their background colors.

I believe ShowRow is the place to handle most of this, and that the color selection for the labels must be moved into the last For/Next loop of ShowRow, but I'm unsure exactly how to do this given the way that the current Table rows take on the colors of the Drawables in "innerClearAll".

Also, I don't have the need to select/highlight a complete row in the Table. Is there an easy way of disabling the SelectRow function in "Cell_Click" while still allowing me to click on individual labels in a row to apply the aforementioned AlphaStatus attributes to an individual label?

I hope this is not a major change requiring a lot of work on the part of those that might help me with this, but I truly appreciate any help that is provided.

By the way, THANKS to Merlot2309 for adding "InsertRow" to the Table Class.

Guardian17

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks

Erel:

Thank you for pointing me in this new direction. Didn't know about CustomListView, and at most there will be 50 words in the ListView. Will give it a go for my App.

I want to say that B4A is a godsend over struggling with Eclipse and Java directly. I struggled for months with Eclipse and always had errors in code any time I tried examples I found on the Web, and therefore really couldn't learn much that way.