trouble with serial communication

Joe08

I'm new to basic4ppc and I tried some of the sample applications. The serialterminal.spb does compile (I use the desktop IDE), runs on desktop in debug mode, no problem. Then I transfer the .exe file and the serialDevice.dll to the mobile device. The application starts with no errors, but when the port has been opened a msgbox appears stating "before loop". When I close the application another mcgbox appears with "0 1". In no case there is a data transfer. I have no idea what's wrong. Who generates these boxes?
I use basic4ppc, version 5.80. My PC's OS is Windows XP prof, SP2 with .NET 1.1 and .NET3.0 installed. The mobile device is an HP4150 with ROM version 1.10.04 GER, and Windows CE 4.20.0 (build 14053).
Any idea is welcome. Thank you.
:sign0085:

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hacked pirate copy of Basic4ppc? The official demo versions cannot compile to exe and 5.80 is way obsolete. Why not try the latest official trial versions? You can run your code on both desktop and device in their respective IDEs and if you like it buy a licence for the full versions that can compile to exe.

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
No! This is an official registered version!!!
Good, you just don't appear as a registered user on the forum (one or more stars under your name) and as we have had a couple of posts in the past from users of hacked versions enquiring about odd behaviour after compilation I did wonder. Sorry to have doubted you.

I have no idea where those message boxes are coming from. I've looked in the SerialDevice library and there are no MessageBox statements in there nor are there any in the SerialTerminal demo app so that is very puzzling :confused: