True/False values and SQL tables

skipper

Licensed User
What is the right way to define a Boolean field in a SQLite table and how to store/retrieve such boolean value?

I tried different field type (Boolean, Integer) and different way to store the boolean value. Opening the table with an external SQL Browser (SQLiteManager) the field store the bool value as 'true' (lowercase and no quotes), but reading the valued with the Reader the returned value is everytime False.

Could you please giveme a little help?

Many thanks
Mimmo

glook

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am no expert with B4ppc or SQLite (still learning), but here is my experience:

I use many boolean fields in a large database, which was converted from a JET/Access database in an existing VB6 application.

Each is defined as a BIT field (example - evergreen BIT NOT NULL). When viewed with a database manager, in this case the Firefox SQLite add-on, the values are 0 for false and 1 for true.

When returned by reader.GetValue(i) and viewed in the IDE watch boxes, the values are either True or False. So Basic4ppc evaluates them correctly. The results on the PocketPC are compared with the VB6 desktop app and are all perfect.

When inserting or updating records, I use the numeric values - perhaps there is a more elegant way, but it works correctly! In my code I use a small sub to set 0 or 1 from the boolean, e.g.
evergreen = BoolNum(chkEvergreen.Checked)

HTH,
Geoff.

skipper

Licensed User
Many thansk to both for your answers.

@erel: please try the attached code: I'm storing alternatively true/false values (displaying with MsgBox, just to be sure, only true values).
Retrieving the values issuing an ExcuteTable i got only False.
The same happens with the Reader.
If you open the resulting table with any external SQL browser (eg. SQLite Database Browser from sqlite.org) you will notice that the sequence true/false is what I'm expecting to find.

@glook: