Variables/Scope question

terryn

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,
I have been using B4A for a few months now and there is just one thing that has been puzzling me.
If a non-primative variable which has been dimed as local inside a sub is referenced from a global variable, why does it still hold the reference when the sub has ended.

B4X:
Sub NewGauge(X As Int,y As Int,w As Int,h As Int)
Dim Newp As Panel
Dim Newc As Canvas
Dim Newgb As GaugeBase ' Custom type
Newgb.Initialize
Newp.Initialize("Gauge")
Activity.AddView(Newp,X,y,w,h)
Newc.Initialize(Newp)
Newgb.cBase = Newc
Newgb.pBase = Newp
Newgb.pBase.Tag = Id
BaseList.Add(Newgb)
End Sub

I would have expected BaseList.cBase to lose the reference when Newc goes out of scope, or am I being a complete idiot.
Please dont shout at me, I have a headache.

Terry

terryn

Licensed User
Longtime User
Sorry Erel, I didnt explain myself very well.
BaseList is a List of custom types (GaugeBase). One of the elements in GaugeBase is a Canvas. These are both global to the application.

B4X:
Sub Globals
Type GaugeBase(pBase As Panel, cBase As Canvas,cBmp As Canvas)
Dim BaseList As List

In the NewGauge Sub, I Dim and Initialise a new GaugeBase and add it to BaseList.

B4X:
Sub NewGauge(X As Int,y As Int,w As Int,h As Int)
Dim Newp As Panel
Dim Newc As Canvas
Dim Newgb As GaugeBase ' Custom type
Newgb.Initialize
BaseList.Add(Newgb)
End Sub

BaseList now contains a reference to Newgb which was dimed in the Sub.
What I dont understand is, why that reference is not broken when the Sub ends.
In all the other pass-by-reference languages I have used, if you pass a reference to a variable created in a subroutine and then try to access it after the sub has ended, you would get a runtime error.

I am not saying that I think this is wrong, I just want to know how this mechanism works. Does the locally created object/variable stay in memory?

Terry

Upvote 0

Jost aus Soest

Licensed User
Longtime User
Reference Counting

Hi Terry,