B4R Question What do I need to take care not to burn the house?

hatzisn

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hey everyone,

I bought this and received it from Banggood (when you open the link scroll down to download the manual/datasheet).

I am planning to power with it a WeMos D1 R3 Mini and a two relays module. As I have limited experience and knowledge in electricity safety do you think I should take care of something before connecting to the power? I mean both for High Voltage side and low voltage side...

This is the relays module:

I also bought this to cool the whole construct if it is needed (Checking with a thermistor)

Thanks

Last edited:

rbghongade

Licensed User
Longtime User
The circuit claims to have isolated output , hence no need to worry. Just use a good quality enclosure.

Upvote 0

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Having taken apart several Chinese USB mains adaptors I can confirm that cheap Chinese electronics and mains power are not always a good match. Their adherence to EU safety standards can be abysmal, any CE mark is often just that - a mark that means nothing. However that one doesn't look too bad, looking at the pictures there is proper isolation of high and low voltages with just an opto-isolator bridging them.

If you have " limited experience and knowledge in electricity safety" you should probably let someone who has hook it up for you. At a minimum put in a box so it cannot be touched and very importantly put a very low current mains rated fuse in the mains input side. For that unit a slow blow 50mA one looks about right. A quick blow one would need a higher rating as those switch mode PSUs can take quite a surge on switch on. I guess you are in Greece so I don't know how your country does electrical things but don't just connect it to a mains outlet without fuse protection

Last edited:
Upvote 0

hatzisn

Licensed User
Longtime User