Wireless Printing in b4a

AndyDroid2012

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am a newbie, but from reading the b4a forum I may have misunderstood if it is "easy" to print to wireless network printers, or not.

I downloaded from Google Play Store the free app "Lets Print Droid" which seems to say it can do so, plus in the help file it says how to handle
android.intents

Here is the section from their installed help file, and I would welcome comments from anyone who has tried to print from b4a natively.

B4X:
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Printing from Another App using LPD

Let’s Print Droid (LPD) can be used by other Android apps to allow them to print. 
This is done via Android Intents. Using the “android.intent.action.SEND” or VIEW Intent 
and a properly formed URI you can programmatically send a file to LPD to be printed.

Before you begin you must ensure the user has installed the LPD app.

Here is a short example that gives the user a choice of apps with which to print. 
It would include LPD if installed:

Intent i = new Intent(android.content.Intent.ACTION_SEND);

i.setType("application/pdf");

i.putExtra(Intent.EXTRA_STREAM, Uri.parse("file://dir/file.pdf"));

startActivity(Intent.createChooser(i, "Print file.pdf"));

If you know that the user will have the LPD app pre-installed you can be more direct and 
avoid the app chooser dialog:

Intent i = new Intent(Intent.ACTION_VIEW);

i.setClassName("com.blackspruce.lpd","com.blackspruce.lpd.ReceiveSentFile");

i.setData( Uri.parse("file://dir/file.jpg"));

startActivityForResult(i, 99);

LPD will print the file and return control to your app via the onActivityResult method :

protected void onActivityResult(int requestCode, int resultCode, Intent data) {

// returning from Let’s Print Droid

if (data != null&& requestCode == 99 && resultCode == RESULT_OK) {

// the file printed OK if resultCode == RESULT_OK

}