{wish} New Classes Additions

EduardoElias

Licensed User
Longtime User
I am new to B4A, got it on 2.0 and without classes it was going to be hard for me.

it is a good addition. I do understand that the nature of B4A is to be simple as possible, but I see that both simple and advanced could co-exist. For more advances bussines apps classes more elaborated are necessary. Hard to mantain the code without that.

Suggestions:

1 - Get and Set Properties

Class.Value is the member visible
SetValue and GetValue would be the real subs. It could be Automatic Named in the code we could declare one line only

Public Property Value As String Set "SetValue" Get "GetValue"

Sub SetValue(x as string)
end sub

Sub GetValue as string
End sub

2 - Basic Inheritance
That will open a door for expanding even more the classes created. It will be really useful if it permit inherit a class from a library. In this case the comunity created libraries could be expanded with no need to change the original.

example:

a new reserved word could be created at beginning of the class file:

Inherited <class module>

Sub Process_Globals

Then simple inheritance could be implemented based on the sub signatures. A new word "inherited" could be used in the sub context as a implicit "callsub" to the parents sub with the same signature

The subs from the parent's class that does not match with any sub will be exposed as part of the new created class. Eventually to make easy to implement at compile time the missing subs from the parents could be created as virtual subs with implicit call to the parent.

3 - an great addition would be sub overriding.
example:

SaveLog(x as string)
SaveLog(x as map)

since the 2 subs have different signature it would be different, the compile will choose according to the parameter passed.

4 - Enumaration:
example:

TDataSetState = (
dsInactive,
dsBrowse,
dsEdit,
dsInsert,
dsSetKey,
dsCalcFields,
dsFilter,
dsNewValue,
dsOldValue,
dsCurValue,
dsBlockRead,
dsInternalCalc,