B4J Question Writing code in b4j and then integrating it with projects coded in pure java - reg.

beelze69

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

I am a newbie to b4j.

I have been tasked with providing a 'java solution' for a project.

Since I do not know java, I am thinking of writing the code in b4j and then giving them the output.

My doubt:

i) What files do I have to give the 'java team' after I code the solution in b4j ?

ii) Whether just giving them the .jar file created would be sufficient (which they can execute with java -jar myprogram.jar)

Requesting for help

Thanks

beelze69

Licensed User
Longtime User
Not really enough information to be definitive but B4J produces entire applications. It sounds like you want to write a module for incorporation into a larger Java project. B4J is not really suitable for this.
Hi,

Okay.. then why it is called B4J (or Basic for Java) ?

I thought it is for programmers like me who do not know java to be able to write applications that will generate Java code..

Kindly correct me.

Thank you..

Upvote 0

Heuristx

Licensed User
Longtime User
It is called Basic for Java because you can write programs with it and run them on systems that can run Java.

But B4J does a lot more than just "translate" the Basic syntax to Java syntax. If it just translated the Java "language", then the structure of the programs would be just as complicated and clumsy as that of a Java program. In other words, it would translate the "sentences", but not the "paragraph" or the "chapter" of the program text.

B4X has its own ways of doing things that simplify structural things and it can produce code that is a lot simpler, more flexible and even faster than that written in Java.

Upvote 0

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I thought it is for programmers like me who do not know java to be able to write applications that will generate Java code..