App free, free music, copyrights

LucaMs

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
For decades, I do not buy music.

I also remember CDs that cost € 40 (I hope to be wrong!).

Legal battles about the rights and digital music.

I was just writing in the Italian forum...

know strumming a guitar or piano is enough to compose a song; is much more complex to develop an app well done!

So, long live to free apps (it is ironic, :mad:)

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
know strumming a guitar or piano is enough to compose a song; is much more complex to develop an app well done!

I'm afraid that will be a point of contention for the musicians on the board. I've been playing and studying guitar for 40+ years, I would say that strumming a guitar and coming up with a song is a long way from composing. You can make up a song and if you're lucky it may be good enough to sell, as people like all sorts of music, and that's how it should be. But unless they know the instrument inside out, I wouldn't call these people musicians or composers. Artists maybe, if they have a feel for music and can use the proficiency in the instrument that they may have acquired as a tool for their art.

Composing requires much more knowledge than the average strummer will have acquired.

And as for not buying music, you're missing out on an experience, unless you are downloading without paying for it, and that's a whole different rant!

Last edited:

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
It still isn't in many cases.

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Yes, that makes my point, where an obviously talented guy is busking instead of playing to a paying audience. Although some friends of mine make a pretty good living from busking. And although obviously happy to be video'd he is unlikely to see any royalties from the publication of the video on youtube.

nwhitfield

Licensed User
Longtime User