Are programmers changing?

JakeBullet70

Licensed User
Longtime User
its all about passion. Young or old.
Us old programmers had / have the passion or we would not be here.
The 'new' programmers either have it or not. That will make or brake them.
It was never a 9 to 5 job for for me, It's my job and hobby and has been for 25+ years.

In the end... Is the customer happy? SCORE!!!!

sorex

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I don't agree with the statement that college boys have a better insight due to their degree and algo's that they learned.

It all comes to experience and insight into solving things and that is something that comes by the years and it's not something you can learn on 3 extra years of school.

On my previous job I was a mid 30er and most of the colleagues 20-28, only 1 of them was interested into programming
and had a nice diploma which I don't have
(I'm an industrial electrician specialized into cooling technics on paper but never did that which is not even high school degree :) )
and stuff that he was working on for weeks/months got back to me and got solved in 1 or 2 days just because the experience difference and in depth knowledge of the system(s).

Informatix

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I don't agree with the statement that college boys have a better insight due to their degree and algo's that they learned.